Lemony Kale, Brussels Sprouts, Shrimp & Quinoa

I will start off by saying this is my new favorite dish. I’m not kidding, it’s that good. And filling, and healthy, but most importantly, so good. And kale and I have had a rough start. As a nutrition student and health fanatic, you would think that I was the first one to jump on the kale bandwagon, right? Wrong. Trust me, I tried. Back in Kalamazoo, Waterstreet had a Smokey Kale Salad, easily the most popular salad there, especially since the cafe was commonly frequented by health conscious foodies. I tried it. Multiple times. And? Nope, not for me. Alright, so that was strike 1.

Strike 2 came when I attempted to make kale chips. Were they horrendous? No, but something went wrong along the way and they did not look nor taste how I was expecting them to, especially with all the rave about kale chips.

DISCLAIMER: I am NOT hating on kale chips, I’m sure they are fantastic and I just did not make them correctly…I will admit that.

So why would I give kale a third chance? Most people aren’t even given second chances, and here I was giving kale a third chance. Well, I will tell you why. Kale is arguably the most nutritious green leafy vegetable there is, and sometimes you have to override your feelings (and taste buds) and eat something just because it is so darn good for you. That, and how am I supposed to be a good dietitian in the future if I don’t even like kale? So I gave it a try…again.

And?

DING DING DING, FOLKS WE HAVE A WINNER!

I’m a believer! (finally, phew!)

And it is all thanks to this delicious dish that I crafted:

P1030803

Lemony Kale, Brussel Sprouts, Shrimp & Quinoa:

Makes 2 servings

1 1/2 cup kale, frozen, thawed

1/3 cup water

1/2 Tbsp olive oil

1/4 red onion, julienne

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups Argentinian red shrimp, thawed

2/3 cup Brussels sprouts, rinsed, halved

Herbs de Provence (to taste)

Garlic Pepper (to taste)

1/3 lemon

1 cup quinoa, cooked

lemon slice (for garnish)

Cook quinoa. You can find a recipe/instructions to cook quinoa here. In a medium pan, heat kale and water over high heat for 2-3 minutes, until boiling. Then, cover and turn heat to low for about 5 minutes. Meanwhile in another pan, heat oil over medium heat. Toss in the onions and cook for about 4 minutes, until they are slightly translucent, then add the garlic for about 2 minutes. Add the shrimp and let cook for a few minutes before tossing in the Brussels sprouts. Season with Herbs de Provence and garlic pepper, and let the mixture cook until the shrimp and Brussels sprouts gain a golden color, and the shrimp is fully cooked. Turn the heat off and combine the kale with the mixture. Squeeze the lemon juice over the mixture and stir. Top quinoa with the vegetable and shrimp mixture. Garnish with a lemon.

P1030802

Now for the important part…take in the colors, textures, and flavors of this dish…out of this world right?

Now you know why my faith in kale has been restored.

Bon appetit!

One thought on “Lemony Kale, Brussels Sprouts, Shrimp & Quinoa

  1. Pingback: Kale, Pear, & Chia Smoothie: Superfoods Unite! | Alena In The City

What do you think?

