Lean Green Omelette

Let me start this off by saying…my boyfriend makes the BEST omelettes. I’m not kidding, they are to die for. We went to the Dominican Republic a few weeks ago on vacation and ate omelettes EVERY SINGLE DAY. Probably not the healthiest choice either of us have made, but man were they delicious. And we were on vacation. The same man made them every morning and it was fascinating to watch – he made it seem as if were an art form. Omelette making an art form? You probably think I’m crazy, if you didn’t already. 

P1020846Beach bums in the D.R. – watch out!

Well, anyways Chase adopted these omelette-making skills and perfected them…and now he is the best omelette-maker I know. I know, I know, you’re probably jealous of me now (and you should be).

So today, after my 90 minute cardio workout (insane!), I was, to say the least, STARVING. And not only was I hungry, but I wanted to refuel myself. I’m usually not the one to eat more than one egg in a sitting but I felt it was necessary.

And I missed Chase. So I whipped up an omelette (literally). And yes, it was the right choice.

P1030603

In order to incorporate all of these delicious vegetables (and to satisfy my grumbling stomach), I decided to make a 2-egg omelette. Yes, I know there has been much debate on the unhealthiness of eggs, and their contributing role in raising cholesterol levels…however, there has been more recent research done on how dietary cholesterol actually does not significantly raise blood cholesterol levels, and that only a small amount of the cholesterol you consume passes into the bloodstream. Blood cholesterol levels are impacted much more by consuming saturated fats and trans fats. That being said, those with heart disease or cholesterol problems should still limit their intake of dietary cholesterol to less than 200mg/day. If you don’t believe me, check out this awesome article by the Harvard Medical School: www.health.harvard.edu/press_releases/egg-nutrition. If you still don’t believe me or if you do have high cholesterol or are at risk for heart disease, use egg whites instead of whole eggs. I promise it will be just as delicious.

Anyways, nutrition facts aside, back to the omelette-making business. The key is to cook the vegetables first, then combine them with the egg(s), whip, and cook.

P1030586

Lean Green Omelette:

Makes 1 omelette

1/4 medium red onion

1/2 large green bell pepper

1 cup spinach leaves

1/2 Tbsp olive oil

2 eggs (or 2 egg whites for the cholesterol-friendly version)

sea salt (to taste)

black peppercorn (to taste)

garlic pepper (to taste)

Chop the onion, bell pepper, and place in a bowl with spinach. Heat 1/4 Tbsp olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Toss in the vegetables, and let them cook for about a minute or two (until the spinach has wilted). In a bowl, combine the cooked vegetables with 2 eggs, whip with a fork, put the remainder of the oil (1/4 Tbsp) on the pan, and pour the vegetable/egg mixture in until it covers the entire pan. When the bottom is golden in color, flip it over onto the other side (bonus points if you get it flipped over in one piece!). Let the other side cook until it too is golden, fold the omelette and transfer to your plate.

P1030588

Talk about green!

P1030591

P1030592

If you’re enjoying this for breakfast, you could accompany your omelette with a small piece of toast. However, if you’re like me and want to make it a full meal (and have a Trader Joe’s conveniently located within walking distance to your home), I suggest you pair it with a piece of whole wheat bread smothered with Trader Joe’s Red Pepper Spread with Eggplant and Garlic. 

P1030604

It is absolutely delicious. And addicting. And pairs great with this fabulous omelette.

What’s your opinion on the egg/cholesterol debate?

What do you think?